en-USes-MX
Criminal Division

The Criminal Division of the County Attorney’s Office is responsible for prosecuting all adult misdemeanor criminal offenses in Williamson County. The Criminal Division prosecutes approximately 11,000 misdemeanor cases per year in three County Courts at Law as well as prosecuting Class C misdemeanors in the four Justice Peace Courts in the County.

 
Criminal Division Staff


 

Laura Gorman

Criminal Courts Division Chief
laura.gorman@wilco.org
B.A. Southwestern University, 2003
J.D. University of Denver, 2005
M.A. University of Denver, 2006

Mariel Puryear 
Trial Director 

mariel.puryear@wilco.org
B.A. University of Texas, 2006 
J.D. St. Mary’s University School of Law, 2014
Carly Dessauer
Appellate Director
carly.dessauer@wilco.org
B.S. Millsaps College, 2005
M.A. University of Texas, Austin 2007
J.D. St. Mary's University School of Law, 2012

Prosecutors

County Court #1:

Jason Steans (Mental Health Lead)
jason.steans@wilco.org
B.A. Trinity University, 1995
J.D. University of Texas School of Law, 1998

Imogene Goetz
Imogene.goetz@wilco.org
B.A. Georgetown University, 2013
J.D. Texas Tech School of Law

Holden Joseph
Holden.joseph@wilco.org
B.A. Texas State University, 2018
J.D. UNT Dallas School of Law, 2021



                

County Court #2:

Joe Register
joe.register@wilco.org
B.S. Texas A&M University, 2008
J.D. William Bowen School of Law, 2016

Anthony Stokes
anthony.stokes@wilco.org 
B.S. Brigham Young University, 2015
J.D.  Baylor Law School, 2019

Rich Nguyen
rich.nguyen@wilco.org
B.A. University of Texas at Austin, 2017
J.D. University of Houston Law Center, 2021

County Court #3:

Yvonne Patton
yvonne.patton@wilco.org
B.A. Grambling State University, 1994
J.D. Louisiana State University, 1994
Carson Walker
carson.walker@wilco.org 
B.S. Texas State University, 2016
J.D. South Texas College of Law, 2020

Intake Prosecutors:

Kemp Phelps
kemp.phelps@wilco.org
B.A. Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, 2017
J.D. Mitchell Hamline School of Law, 2021
Sam Lower
samuel.lower@wilco.org
B.A. University of Oklahoma, 2018
J.D. University of Texas School of Law, 2021
 

Legal Assistants:

Angela Murillo
angela.murilllo@wilco.org
Yvonne Tinoco
yvonne.tinoco@wilco.org
Jessica Schmidt 
jessica.schmidt@wilco.org      
Ryleigh Schobey
ryleigh.schobey@wilco.org
Arielle Alston
arielle.alston@wilco.org 
Madison Galvan
Madison.galvan@wilco.org