Filing for an Occupational Driver License in Justice Court Precinct 1
What is an occupational license?
An occupational license is a special restricted license issued to persons whose license has been suspended or revoked for certain offenses. Texas Transportation Code Section 521.242;37 (Opens in a new window), Texas Administration Code 15.7 (Opens in a new window).
Am I eligible for an Occupational Drivers License? ODL Eligibility Chart (Opens a new window.)
Is the court order the occupational license?
No. This is the order granting the occupational license. The court order and all other compliance items without a reinstatement fee may be mailed so an occupational license can be issued. Mail to the Texas Department of Public Safety, Attn: ECS, PO Box 4087, Austin, Texas 78773. These items may also be submitted via email to firstname.lastname@example.org as a scanned attachment. If you wish to submit compliance information as an attachment, it must be submitted in a standard “pdf” format. You can also fax the document to 512-424-2848.
You may contact DPS at: (512)424-2600 or visit their website:https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/ (Opens in a new window)
The court order may be used temporarily as a license for 45 days from the date of the judge’s signature while DPS processes the occupational license.
Can I get a refund if the license is not granted?
No. The filing fee is $46.00 and is non-refundable.
To file for an Occupational Driver License you must:
Familiarize yourself with the requirements as set out in the Transportation Code Section 521.241 to 521.253. http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Search.aspx (Opens in a new window)
Also, you may want to view this packet from TexasLawHelp.org that contains instruactions and forms. ODL Instructions and Forms (opens in new window)
- File a Petition with the Williamson County Justice Court. Petition For Occupational License (Opens a new widow)
- Obtain and file a SR-22 Certificate of Insurance or Proof of Financial Responsibility. An Insurance Agent may assist you in obtaining the SR-22 or a copy of your insurance.
- Obtain and file a Certified Abstract of your Driving Record (Opens a new window) (AR). This can be requested from the following DPS website: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/ (Opens a new window)
- Obtain and file a letter from your employer or a school certificate, if applicable.
- Print, fill out, and file an Order Granting Occupational License, it MUST be completed by petitioner. Order Granting Occupational License (Opens a new window) (this should open our court order, I have attached it for you)
- Submit a copy of the suspension letter you received from DPS to the court, if applicable.
- After filing your Petition and all other required documentation, the Judge will review your petition. If approved, you will be notified when you may return to the court to pay for and receive certified copies of the Petition and Order for filing with DPS (if necessary) and for your records. The court will notify you the cost for copies.
- To file online, please visit https://efile.txcourts.gov/ofsweb (Opens a new window) to register, upload your documents and pay the $46.00 filing fee.
This procedure can be very complicated. It may be beneficial to employ an attorney to assist you. The Judge and respective staff are prohibited by law to assist you in the preparing of the application or procedural steps taken after the Judge signs the Order.